Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on my Mac?

Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on my Mac?

Postby Tomb » Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:46 pm

Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on a Mac OS X 10.6.8. with an Intel Core 2 Duo 2GHz processor and an integrated Intel GMA 950 GPU?
Tomb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:45 pm
Location: Myst Island

Re: Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on my Mac?

Postby Ainia » Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:44 am

I can't answer about your particular specifications, but it is running fine so far on my MacBook Pro.

Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6770M 1024 MB
OS: OSX Lion 10.7.5
ImageImage
Ainia
Obduction Backer
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: The Cleft, New Mexico

Re: Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on my Mac?

Postby Jamie Marchant » Sun Mar 09, 2014 6:55 pm

System requirements are at the bottom of this page:
http://store.steampowered.com/app/244430/

Your OS and processor look good, not sure about the video card.
Jamie Marchant
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:26 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on my Mac?

Postby Tomala » Sun Mar 09, 2014 10:04 pm

It should be just enough to run it.
Tomala
Obduction Backer
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:06 pm
Location: Anywhere

Re: Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on my Mac?

Postby ArkhamNative » Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:01 am

Ooh, I'm not so sure. The minimum specs say a card that supports shader model 3.0. GMA 950 is only pixel shader 2.0 but vertex shader 3.0. It's kind of an edge case by the numbers, on a 6.5+ year-old Mac.

Edit:
I actually have an even older Mac at hand (Mac OS X 10.6.8, 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo), but it has an ATI mobility X1600 graphics chip, which is more advanced and benchmarks quite a lot higher than the GMA 950. rM:ME runs on it but is very low frame rate (5 fps?), even at lowest settings and 640x480 (lowest resolution). The low frame rate makes it uncontrollable in free roam mode unless you dial down the mouse look speed to lowest. The game may not even run on a GMA 950, but if it does, your experience very likely will be poor.

TL;DR for any Cyan reps: This is not an error report. My system is well below minimum specs and I didn't even expect the game to run on it. :)
ArkhamNative
Obduction Backer
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 4:26 am
Location: Texas / Tennessee

Re: Will realMyst: Masterpiece Edition run on my Mac?

Postby Tomb » Mon Mar 10, 2014 12:26 pm

ArkhamNative wrote:Ooh, I'm not so sure. The minimum specs say a card that supports shader model 3.0. GMA 950 is only pixel shader 2.0 but vertex shader 3.0. It's kind of an edge case by the numbers, on a 6.5+ year-old Mac.

Edit:
I actually have an even older Mac at hand (Mac OS X 10.6.8, 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo), but it has an ATI mobility X1600 graphics chip, which is more advanced and benchmarks quite a lot higher than the GMA 950. rM:ME runs on it but is very low frame rate (5 fps?), even at lowest settings and 640x480 (lowest resolution). The low frame rate makes it uncontrollable in free roam mode unless you dial down the mouse look speed to lowest. The game may not even run on a GMA 950, but if it does, your experience very likely will be poor.

TL;DR for any Cyan reps: This is not an error report. My system is well below minimum specs and I didn't even expect the game to run on it. :)

okay, thanks. i'll try to get my hands on the original realMyst instead.
Tomb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:45 pm
Location: Myst Island


Return to realMyst: Masterpiece Edition (2014)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron